SEVEN DEADLY SPINS: 9/23/2012 – 9/30/2012

This week’s SEVEN DEADLY SPINS includes two songs by Melody’s Echo Chamber because, well, I really really like that album. (It’s French and psychedelic pop– it’s like they made it just for me!) Proving that I’m always a sucker for an interesting marketing campaign, I also bought (and totally dug) MS MR’s “Candy Bar Creep Show” EP, which they released on Tumblr via a really cool audio/video/remix widget designed by Eyes & Ears Entertainment. And proving that I don’t believe in guilty pleasures, ABBA’s “Take A Chance On Me” was one of my most played this week. Not ashamed.

Subscribe on Spotify.

Bonus:

Remember what I said a few weeks ago about the dangers of having friends in bands? Crisis is once again avoided. I got to see history in the making last Wednesday, i.e., Layla The Wolf‘s first show. I’m expecting big things from this clan, what with their goofy band members and Givers-esque riffs. If you’re in Nashville, they’re playing a show at Springwater on Monday. The day before, I also passed by Grimey’s for Fox Fun’s celebratory in-store in honor of their first 7″ record. Fox Fun, one of my favorite bands, is a punk duo consisting of two 17-year-olds who jam harder than people twice their age. They’re a nice mix of power-pop, classic rock, and catchy (often borderline ridiculous but always fun) lyrics. Snag their new single on yellow vinyl at Turbo Time Records. Lastly, needles//pins, whose album a) I thought I bought about a month ago, b) I recently found out I did not actually buy, c) is one of my favorite ones to randomly discover this year. It was hard picking a song because I love them all. Best power-pop band since The Exploding Hearts.

“Lazy Susan” by Layla the Wolf. Live in our Basement from Cardboard Films on Vimeo.

2 comments

  1. Whoa there, we’re both 17. Just wanna clear that up. Thanks – Fox Fun

    1. My bad, dudes! I am old and my eyesight is going. Will fix!

Leave a Reply

