SEVEN DEADLY SPINS: 9/30/12-10/7/12

Though this week’s Seven Deadly Spins don’t have any John Mayer or Jason Mraz on it, it’s decidedly more college than usual. Read: heavy on singer/songwriter “INDIE ROCK.” I have to admit that I don’t know much about Tristan Prettyman and Tegan & Sara, aside from “All I Want For Christmas Is Us” and that one song about alligators, respectively. Nonetheless, I decided to give their newest tunes a listen and I am totally digging these two lovestruck pop songs.

Nashville/ex-Belmont babes Kopecky Family Band and Evan P. Donohue have also been stuck in my head lately, thanks to the release show that they held at a brewery (long live college!!!) earlier this week. Kopecky’s Kids Raising Kids officially comes out on October 23rd and I highly suggest you preorder it over at the Kopecky Family Store. Hopefully, we will get another release from EPD soon.

Rounding out this week’s spins are Grimes, who I got to swoon over– I mean, see perform at Mercy Lounge this week, and Diiv, whose stellar “How Long Have You Know?” is especially Drums-esque.

Click to subscribe.

Bonus:

Today’s bonus tracks/videos can pretty much be summed up as follows:

1. I wish I were one of Will Smith’s kids

2. Although The Orwells led me astray by naming this song “Halloween All Year” and not having a zombified music video, I really love this song

3. I’m currently reading all of Bret Easton Ellis’ works in order, which is seeping into my music listening habits

Leave a Reply

