SEVEN DEADLY SPINS: 11/5/12-11/11/12

Two big big things happened this week. 1) I turned 22teen a couple hours ago, making me the oldest living teenager. 2) I voted in my first Presidential election, which I was 110% excited to do. This week’s Seven Deadly Spins reflect those two things. On the birthday front: I can only assume that my pop idol Ke$ha released her video for “Die Young” as an early birthday gift. Meek Mill’s “Amen” will never ever ever not be my jam, so it was on heavy rotation this week. The rest of the songs are pretty election-related, from Stevie Wonder’s acceptance soundtrack “Signed, Sealed, Delivered” to Kanye and Jay’s meme-worthy “Clique.” Yes, this mix is decidedly pro-Obama with The Drum’s “Let’s Go Surfin'” and Scissor Sister’s “Shady Love” — but come on, if your candidate won, you would’ve done a celebratory dance to “Crazy in Love” too, right? Democrats, Republicans, third parties… I think we can all agree that Beyonce is America.

Click to subscribe.

BONUS:

Since it’s my birthday, I’m giving you an extra bonus track as a gift from me to you. These are all remixes/mash-ups that we played during last night’s America party… So yes, there is a Bruce Springsteen remix. And wow, is it hard to find a good Bruce Springsteen remix. Next, we have MANIK’s super wobbly “Away Frm You” remix. It’s no secret that my love for Oberhofer is deep and, at times, embarrassing, so this remix jumped to heavy rotation the second I heard it. We’re also big fans of TNGHT at Hogwarts, so I was really pumped to hear The Hood Internet’s “Gooo”/”N****s in Paris” mash up. Finally, a remix of 2 Chainz’s “Birthday Song” that is maybe better in concept than execution, but I support anything with Lesley Gore in it– and big booty girls.

Leave a Reply

