PRETENTIOUS MIXTAPES: GLITTERATI

Glitterati

Why It’s Pretentious: So I made this apocalyptic concept album using only Ke$ha songs, which I know doesn’t sound very pretentious — besides when I use the phrase “concept album” — but don’t worry. First of all, the title comes from an unreleased Roger Avery film about Victor from Rules of Attraction/Glamorama. Nothing says pretentious like Bret Easton Ellis! Second of all, I wanted it to be a detailed account of aliens taking over Earth, but unable to find a decent version of “Aliens Invading,” I had to settle for any song that sounded like the apocalypse was happening in a dark, seedy club. (And then I had to narrow it down from “every Ke$ha song ever.”) So this is a mixed bag of apocalyptic pop: one part unnerving (the deconstructed version of “Blow,” the Flaming Lips’ “2012 [you must be upgraded],”) to two parts danceable (everything), plus a dash of hopeful love and reincarnation (the Wayne Coyne duet “Past Lives”). Despite the “controversy” surrounding “Die Young” right now, I obviously included it because hey, it’s the apocalypse, let’s make the most of the night like we’re gonna die young, right? Finally, I did mix this all live/in one take, so my apologies for the occasional rough transition. (You might want to turn the volume down before the Supernatural remix, my B-eyonce, dudes.)

Without further ado, I present to you, Glitterati.

 Glitterati - Back

This is the way the world ends

This is the way the world ends

This is the way the world ends

Not with a bang but glitter

Download. (Right click, save-as)

One comment

  1. […] and all three limited pressings of JEFF the Brotherhood’s Castle Storm, which cost more than the rest of my music purchases […]

Leave a Reply

