SEVEN DEADLY SPINS: 1/28/13 – 2/3/13

Long time, no spin! For a while, I’d been feeling like nothing new was coming out in music that was really getting me excited. And then came Sundance AKA a whole week of not listening to music obsessively. When I got back on record release day (or what other people refer to as Tuesday), I was bombarded by so much music that it restored my faith in “music these days.” It started with Tegan and Sara’s new album, Heartthrob. My relationship with Tegan and Sara is a strange one that, for some reason, I really like to talk about on the internet. For about 7 years, I was absolutely convinced that Tegan and Sara and Le Tigre were the same band. (“There can only be one lesbian alternative rock band,” middle school me genuinely posited.) I inexplicably own many of their albums despite the fact that I have only ever listened to a handful of their songs– I think the ones that were on Grey’s Anatomy circa 2005-2006. Anyway, one day, I listened to “Closer” and holy shit I love Tegan and Sara. This album is pop gold. Every song is like, do I dance or do I cry? Which is exactly my preferred method of having conflicting feelings. My roommate thinks it sounds like Katy Perry, but her opinion is irrelevant. You should buy this sucker.

My other favorite album of the week/month is Foxygen’s We are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic. A more accurate title would have been We are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Everyone Who Did Heroin in the Late 60s-Early 70s. WOW do Foxygen rip off a lot of people. We’ve got an intro taken straight from Sgt. Pepper’s Lovely Hearts Club Band, slurred lyrics from the Velvet Underground, the melody from “Suspicious Minds,” a little rock n roll from The Rolling Stones, and a lot of glam from Bowie. Honestly, it feels a lot like listening to the Greatest Hits album of some obscure band from the 70s, but I don’t even care, because it’s so well-crafted. Also, I laugh every time I hear the line “there’s no need to be an asshole / you’re not in Brooklyn anymore” in “No Destruction.” Already callin’ it as the best lyric of 2013.

Click to subscribe.

Bonus:

I finally checked out the rest of The Denzels’ EP– and although it is awesome, I’m still gonna post “Rae Rae” because I have a weakness for super cute songs by punk(ish) bands. Also checked out D.A.I.S.Y. rage, the new EP from the white girl ruining hip hop, Kitty. (She’s no longer Kitty Pryde out of respect for X-Men fans, which is a bummer.) I didn’t think she could beat out the Chola-dissin’ line “You don’t know why all the boys flock to me? / Bitch, draw your eyebrows on and then talk to me,” but then she came out with EVERY SINGLE THING ABOUT “R.R.E.A.M.,” about the rash she gets when she gets nervous. Finally, everyone’s talking about Torres’ new album, but no one’s mentioned “Jealousy and I,” which is an absolute shame. To me, this is the standout track from the album. I remember listening to this song for the first time and thinking, “man, a song hasn’t bruised my heart so much since Rilo Kiley’s ‘Does He Love You’?” So I just wanted to draw some attention to this underrated tune. Finally, have Tegan and Sara’s video for “Closer,” because I can’t stop loving and having feelings to this album.

Leave a Reply

